The fascinating history of The Isle Of Ely and the Cathedral City at its heart.

Hereward The Wake

Ely Skyline Pictures

Registered as Charity No. 274253
Museum and Galleries Commission No. 776

Brewing was an important part of Ely's industry for over 700 years.

Model of the Roman Regional Headquarters at Stonea during the 2nd century.

Roman burial of a man in his late twenties. Probably 4th century.

Ely Museum Trust was set up in 1972 with much voluntary support. After opening in the High Street, the Museum moved to the Old Gaol on Market Street in 1997. Many items in the collection were donated by local people and organisation. Ely Museum is independent and relies on grants, admissions and the generosity of visitors to remain open.

The Old Gaol, Market Street, Ely, Cambs. CB7 4LS.
Telephone: 01353 666655 - Fax: 01353 659259

The Ely Museum now has it's own web site.
Ely Museum is housed in one of the oldest buildings in Ely, dating from the 13th Century, it has been a private house, a Tavern, a Registry Office & the Bishop's Goal.

Sensitively renovated in 1997 much of the buildings history can still be seen, including prisoners graffiti, hidden doorways and original planking on the walls.
ely museum
Replica of Roman Cavalry Helmet found at Witcham, courtesy of Cambridgeshire County Council.

Anglo Saxon brooches, probably from a pagan grave, 6th century. Anglo Saxon hook tag, for fastening clothes, 9th century.
The displays include fossils from marine dinosaurs, prehistoric tools and weapons, Roman pottery and Anglo Saxon jewellery.

An archive film shows methods of farming in the past, and the Debtors and Condemned Cells show visitors what the Bishops' Gaol was really like.
Visitors can enjoy the attractive and secluded courtyard before and after their visit.

The Cambridgeshire Regiment Collection display includes two of the Singapore Drums, and tells the traumatic story of the Regiment's imprisonment by the Japanese during World War Two.

Ely Museum has a level front entrance, an adapted toilet and a stairlift to the upper floor. There are chairs throughout the Museum for visitors.

A View from St Mary's Street' c.1858. By Henry Baines (1823-1894).

Tudor shoes found bricked up in the Ely Porta, probably as a protection against witches.
Quiz sheets are free to children visiting the Museum, there is a Teacher's Resource Pack, and many more objects which can be touched. Guided tours are available by appointment.

There are toilets and a nappy changing unit for visitors. The gift shop sells many items from the Robert Opie range as well as local history publications, and work by local artists and crafts people.
Special events and exhibitions are held throughout the year, including finds and identification afternoons, living history days and a programme of talks.

Consider becoming a Friend of Ely Museum, and enjoy free admission, a free newsletter twice a year and discounted entry to special events.

Ely Museum has a handling collection, including loan boxes for schools.


Click here to return to Front Page of Ely Online
www.ely.org.uk - Est: 1997

SITE ADMINISTRATION BY www.ukbusiness.net - Local Web and Media Creation